DIY Shampoo & Moisturizing Squares

IMG_7553

These are some fun DIY bath time bars I made. I created my own variation based off of a couple recipes I found online. The darker bar is a shampoo block. The milky square is the greasiest butter bar you could ever find. I hope you guys enjoy them! I have tried them both and I think they are really great. 🙂 I was able to find all of these ingredients at my local ‘Vitamin Shoppe.’ If you don’t have a Vitamin Shoppe visit your local health food store.

 

Ingredients for shampoo: 

  • Castile Soap (1/4 cup)
  • Bentonite Clay (1tsp)
  • Essential oils of your choice for scent. I used Sweet Orange. (25 drops)
  • Vitamin E (capsules will work, just cut them open and squeeze them out) (1/2tsp)
  • Tea Tree Oil is *optional (3 drops at most!)
  • 1 fun silicon ice cube tray of your choice
  • *optional* cut a green tea bag and sprinkle some of the contents over each ice cube hole before you pour the shampoo mixture in. Green tea on your scalp can help with dandruff 

Directions:

Mix up all of your ingredients in a bowl. If you want to make a fun bar like mine or even a cute shape, pour your mixture into your mold and keep it in the freezer. It will last you such a long time and all you have to do is go and take one out every time you shower. Or if you would prefer, just keep it as a liquid and put it into a cute bottle! I really liked this bottle because it had a pretty anchor on the bottom. The Castile soap is what is going to really clean your scalp. I was really impressed at how bubbly it got on my hair. I would say this is PERFECT for naturally curly hair, beach wavy natural hair, or even if you like textured hair. It will add a lot of texture to your hair. So if you like pin straight ironed hair this may not be the best option for you.

 

Ingredients for body butter bar:

  • Shea Butter (2tbs)
  • Coconut oil (2tbs)
  • Almond Oil (1tsp)
  • Vitamin E Oil (1/2tsp)
  • Essential Oils of your choice for scent. I used Sweet Orange. (25 drops)
  • 1 fun silicon ice cube tray of your choice

Directions:

Put all of your ingredients in a bowl. Pour this mixture into a double boiler and allow your oils to melt together. Let oils cool and pour them into your silicon mold. You will definitely want to keep these frozen in a mold because they will melt very easily on a hot day. These are AMAZING. They are so moisturizing I love them. One bar is enough to moisturize my entire body after a shower. If you look in the photo you can see I have been using one and putting it back haha. I love using it on my hands after I wash the dishes and I put it back for later.

I really hope you guys enjoy these! Research the ingredients and see how beneficial they are for you! No harsh chemicals or toxins. They should actually improve the look of your hair and skin! 🙂

Click the follow button, on your right, to see what happens next xoxo. -Kate

Twitter: @katieruiz94 | Instagram: katieruiz94

 

7 thoughts on “DIY Shampoo & Moisturizing Squares

Leave a Reply

