Our Wedding Day

img_1201

Our wedding was the best day of my life! SO much happened it’s almost impossible to tell you everything. 🙂 Edward and I are so happy it went so smoothly. Everyone had a great time!! Enjoy these snapshots. I love you guys! 🙂 I am offically Mrs. Rivera!!!

Thursday, October 20th.
I went up to Portland to decorate the chapel with my cousin Bethany. It was nice to be able to spend time with my uncles family. Not many people know this yet but, Bethany’s parents plan on leaving her behind here in Portland ME and moving to Greenville IL in January. So, that made our wedding my uncle’s very last! It’s an emotional thought. We picked up Bethany’s sister Alicia from the airport, decorated the adjoining chapel together, laughed over taco salad, and went to bed not knowing what the next day would bring.

img_1134

img_1138

img_1146

Friday, October 22nd- Wedding Rehearsal Day.
I woke up with a sinking feeling in my stomach. I knew that tomorrow would be one of the most important, unpredictable, days of my life. I forced myself up anyways. My extended family was having breakfast downstairs. Alicia, Bethany, and I had to start baking muffins for the wedding morning, and iron out some of the chapel drapery. We were a couple of domestics hahah. 🙂 It was beginning to rain. The rain was to last the whole weekend… I was told that rain on your wedding day is a sign of good luck and fertility hahah.

img_1150

I knew that today I would be meeting all of Edward’s friends. I had only ever met his best friend… and I was afraid his other friends wouldn’t like me! But I internalized my feelings and kept busy for the rest of the morning. One by one my family and friends started arriving. THAT was such a comfort. Something about seeing the faces of your mother and your best friend is like a warm blanket….

1pm- Rehearsal Begins.
I entered the chapel… there they all were.. the faces I knew from facebook. Edwards friends were all lined up in a place I’d visited my whole life… my uncle’s church. All these strangers from Arizona were not strangers to me 🙂 I felt as though I had met them years ago. They were all so strangely like my husband to be. Everyone laughed and joked, tried to pretend we weren’t really nervous about going down the aisle in front of 100 people the next day. I was emotionally doing well… until my father and I practiced going down the aisle. Edward began to tear up… and the realization that this was happening began to TRULY kick in.

(I wasn’t able to take photos of all the guys that night! :/ But here are some images of the girls having pizza and a laugh downstairs.)

img_1158img_1159

5pm- The Bridesmaids Decorate the Reception Hall.
I was finally able to see all of our planning coming together! It’s like you spend all these months planning for something you won’t see until it’s potentially too late. Our decorations were minimal and beautiful in their simplicity. The hall manager let us play some of our music while we decorated. The rain was belting the New England coast outside but we were warm inside working the night away. It was awesome to see my friends beginning to bond with each other. I knew most of them from different eras in my life. But, when all your friends are awesome, chances are they will all get along. Here are a couple of videos from that night. hahah don’t mind my dad dancing x)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7pm- The Hotel.
At this point, I started to become sick with worry. My heart was beating so fast and I was shaking. Luckily my parents, brother, and sister in law were down the hotel hall. AND I was staying in the same room with Lena, Iymae, and Alicia. I needed all the love and support I could get that night. Everyone kept asking me what I was the most nervous about… I realized that it was public emotion. I knew that my wedding day was going to be the most emotional day of my life… and I was afraid of having to be so emotionally vulnerable in front of everyone I knew. My friends and I chatted, 80’s slumber party style lol, late into the night. We gossiped, joked, and remembered funny stories. This was a welcomed distraction.
SUDDENLY “BEEP… BEEP… BEEP… BEEP” all of our phones went off at once with the emergency horn. There was a flood warning for the whole city of Portland. The rain beat the earth outside our window as we snuggled off to sleep. The thunder and lightening roared all night. and I was awake to see the whole light show. I probably slept 2 hours that night.

Saturday, October 22nd- Our Wedding Day
I woke up feeling great!!! It was like my nerves had melted away and all that was left was acceptance and excitement. The girls and I went down for our continental breakfast at 6:30 am and we returned to the room promptly to begin our 3 hours worth of hair and makeup. We bumped our favorite music and zoned out with our makeup brushes and curling irons. Everything was going exceptionally well! I wondered how Edward was feeling… I only was able to call him once the night before… we were both so nervous then. I had hoped he had woken up fearless like I did that morning.

We piled into our cars hair and makeup done ready to put our gowns on at the church. The rain was still coming down. But it didn’t matter 🙂 we were all in such a great mood. We met up with the other bridesmaids in the church nursery. This is when the morning fast forwarded for me…. it was like a huge blur. we all got into our dresses and lined up for the wedding… my wedding…. my dad started tearing up when he saw me in my wedding dress. He tried to stay strong for me because he knew I would cry if I saw him all out crying. I love him so much. I don’t know if I tell him that enough. We were all so happy. 🙂

img_1217img_1222img_1216

Below is one I stole from the guys x)

img_1211

img_1480

Before I knew it the music was playing and my best friends were walking down the aisle…. This was it…. The doors close before my dad and I enter….
….They open…
In my peripheral vision, I see about 100 heads turn to face me… camera flashes…. sweet murmurs of “ooh” and “aww” But all I can see is Edward….. and for me, there is perfect silence… I can’t see anything… I can’t hear anyone… I see him… The man that was always meant to be my husband. I begin crying (just as I am now, remembering it.) I see him smiling back at me with love and strength. His best friend squeezes his shoulders in support. The mood was heavy and intense. Edward began to tear up. And when my father and I finally reach the alter…. my hand grasps Edwards for the rest of it’s life.

img_1387img_1388img_1341img_1191img_1381img_1383

I cried so much hahah… I didn’t smear my makeup though ;).. my best friend Lena taught me how to handle tears and makeup! I don’t think the ceremony could have gone any better!! The reception was a dream as well. during our couples dance Edward told me to imagine we were in our living room alone… like how we always danced together. and it was like no one else was watching us. 🙂 When my father and I danced… He cried and kissed my forehead. He told me this was the happiest day of his life.

Enjoy the slideshow below of the reception!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This song played all weekend. It will always remind me of decorating with the girls, doing our hair and makeup together, and dancing at the reception!!!I wish I had a Go-Pro on the whole night haha. There is no possible way to give that day the justice it deserved. I hope the pictures and videos I have put together will suffice.

I wish I had a Go-Pro on the whole night haha. There is no possible way to give that day the justice it deserved. I hope the pictures and videos I have put together will suffice.

Click the follow button, on your right, to see what happens next xoxo. -Kate

Twitter: @katieruiz94 | Instagram: katieruiz94

Leave a Reply

